Country Report Djibouti November 2006

Political structure

Official name

République de Djibouti

Form of state

Unitary republic

Legal system

Based on the Napoleonic Code; a referendum in September 1992 endorsed a new constitution, which allowed for a maximum of four political parties; this limit was removed by a constitutional amendment in September 2002

National legislature

National Assembly; 65 deputies, elected by universal suffrage, serve a five-year term; the UMP coalition holds all of the seats

National elections

January 2003 (legislative) and April 2005 (presidential); next elections due in January 2008 (legislative) and April 2011 (presidential)

Head of state

President, elected by universal suffrage; serves a term of six years

National government

The president and his appointed Council of Ministers

Main political parties

The 2003 legislative election was contested by two coalitions, which between them comprised all of the legal political parties; all of the seats were won by Union pour la majorité présidentielle (UMP), which is dominated by Rassemblement populaire pour le progrès (RPP), the former sole legal party, and also contains Parti nationale démocratique (PND), Front pour la restauration de l'unité et de la démocratie (FRUD) and Parti populaire social démocrate (PPSD); the losing coalition, Union pour l'alternance démocratique (UAD), comprises Alliance républicaine pour la démocratie (ARD), Mouvement pour le renouveau démocratique et le développement (MRD), Union djiboutienne pour la démocratie et la justice (UDJ) and Parti djiboutien pour le développement (PDD; expelled from the UAD in December 2004); personality and clan are more significant than party labels

President: Ismaël Omar Guelleh

Prime minister: Dileita Mohamed Dileita

Cabinet ministers

Agriculture, livestock & the sea: Abdoulkader Kamil Mohamed

Communication & culture: Ali Abdi Farah

Defence: Ougoureh Kifleh Ahmed

Economy, finance, planning & privatisation: Ali Farah Assoweh

Education: Abdi Ibrahim Absieh

Employment: Mohamed Dini Farah

Energy & natural resources: Mohamed Ali Mohamed

Equipment & transport: Ismail Ibrahim Houmed

Foreign affairs & international co-operation: Mahamoud Ali Youssouf

Deputy (foreign affairs): Hawa Ahmed Youssouf

Health: Abdallah Abdillahi Miguil

Housing: Elmi Obsieh Waïs

Interior: Yacin Elmi Bouh

Justice: Mohamed Barkat Abdillahi

Deputy (justice): Cheick Mogueh Dirir Samatar

Presidential affairs & investment promotion: Osman Ahmed Moussa

Trade & industry: Rifki Abdoulkader Bamakhrama

Women, family & social affairs: Aïcha Mohamed Robleh

Youth, sport, leisure & tourism: Hassan Farah Miguil

Central bank governor

Djama Mahamoud Haïd

© 2006 The Economist lntelligence Unit Ltd. All rights reserved
Whilst every effort has been taken to verify the accuracy of this information, The Economist lntelligence Unit Ltd. cannot accept any responsibility or liability for reliance by any person on this information