Country Report Benin April 2008

Political structure

Official name

République du Bénin

Form of state

Unitary republic

Legal system

Based on December 1990 constitution

National legislature

National Assembly with 83 seats, elected by universal suffrage for a four-year term

National elections

March 2006 (presidential); March 2007 (legislative); next presidential and legislative elections due in 2011 and 2012 respectively

Head of state

President, elected by universal suffrage for a five-year term; a maximum of two terms may be served

National government

The president and his appointed government; the cabinet was reshuffled on November 2nd 2007

Main political parties

Force cauris pour un Bénin émergent (FCBE), created in January 2007 to support the president, Boni Yayi, won 35 seats in the National Assembly in the March 2007 legislative election; the other main coalitions and parties in parliament are: Alliance pour une dynamique démocratique (ADD; 20 seats), which includes Renaissance du Bénin, Parti social démocrate (PSD), and Mouvement africain pour la démocratie et le progrès (MADEP); and Parti du renouveau démocratique (PRD; 10 seats)

President: Boni Yayi

Ministers of state

Development & co-ordination: Pascal Koupaki

Defence: Issifou Kogui N'Douro

Key ministers

Administrative & institutional reforms: Bio Idrissou Sina

Agriculture, livestock & fisheries: Roger Dovonou

Civil service & labour: Emmanuel Tiando

Culture & crafts: Soumanou Toleba

Environment: Juliette Knoudenoukpo Biaou

Economy & finance: Mana Soulé Lawani

Foreign affairs: Moussa Okanla

Health: Kessile Tchala

Higher education & research: Vicentia Bocco

Industry & small & medium-sized enterprises: Grégoire Akofodji

Interior & security: Félix Hessou

Justice, legislation & human rights: Gustave Anani Cassa

Literacy & national languages: Roger Gbégnonvi

Microfinance & youth & female employment: Sakinatou Sidi

Mines, energy & water: Sacca Lafia

Relations with institutions & government spokesman: Alexandre Hountondji

Urban affairs, housing & land reform: François G Noudegbessi

Youth, sport & leisure: Ganiou Soglo

Delegate ministers

Communications & new technology: Désiré Adadja

Transport & public works: Armand Zinzindohouéi

Governor of regional central bank (BCEAO)

Philippe-Henri Dacoury-Tabley

© 2008 The Economist lntelligence Unit Ltd. All rights reserved
Whilst every effort has been taken to verify the accuracy of this information, The Economist lntelligence Unit Ltd. cannot accept any responsibility or liability for reliance by any person on this information