Country Report Saudi Arabia May 2011

Political structure

Official name

Kingdom of Saudi Arabia

Legal system

Based on sharia (Islamic law) and the Basic Law (1992); no written constitution

National legislature

There is no elected legislature. A Majlis al-Shura (Consultative Council) was appointed in August 1993 and held its inaugural session in December that year

Head of state

The king, Abdullah bin Abdel-Aziz al-Saud, acceded to the throne in August 2005 on the death of King Fahd bin Abdel-Aziz al-Saud, who had ruled since 1982. Prince Sultan bin Abdel-Aziz al-Saud became crown prince

National government

Council of Ministers, headed by the king, who holds the post of prime minister. The Council of Ministers exercises both legislative and executive powers

Main political parties

Political parties are not permitted

Council of Ministers

Prime minister: King Abdullah bin Abdel-Aziz al-Saud

First deputy prime minister & defence & aviation minister: Crown Prince Sultan bin Abdel-Aziz al-Saud

Second deputy prime minister & interior minister: Nayef bin Abdel-Aziz al-Saud

Key ministers

Agriculture: Fahd bin Abdel-Rahman Balghnaim

Civil service: Mohammed bin Ali al-Fayez

Commerce & industry: Abdullah Zainal Alireza

Culture & information: Abdel-Aziz al-Khoja

Economy & planning: Khaled bin Mohammed al-Gosaibi

Education: Faisal bin Mohammed al-Saud

Finance: Ibrahim Abdel-Aziz al-Assaf

Foreign affairs: Saud al-Faisal bin Abdel-Aziz al-Saud

Health: Abdullah Rabia

Higher education: Khaled bin Mohammed al-Anqari

Housing: Shuwaish al-Duwaihi

Islamic affairs: Saleh bin Abdel-Aziz al-Sheikh

Justice: Mohammed al-Eissa

Labour: Adel Fakieh

Municipal & rural affairs: Mansour bin Mitab al-Saud

Petroleum & mineral resources: Ali bin Ibrahim al-Naimi

Pilgrimage: Fouad bin Abdel-Salam bin Mohammed Farsi

Social affairs: Abdel-Mohsen bin Abdel-Aziz al-Akkas

Telecoms & information technology: Mohammed bin Jamal al-Mulla

Transport: Jabara bin Eid al-Seraisry

Water & electricity: Abdullah al-Hussayen

Key officials

Chairman of the Consultative Council: Abdullah bin Mohammed al-Sheikh

Director of General Intelligence: Muqrin bin Abdel-Aziz al-Saud

Head of National Security Council: Bandar bin Sultan bin Abdel-Aziz al-Saud

President of the Board of Grievances: Ibrahim al-Hokail

President of the Supreme Judicial Council: Saleh bin Abdullah bin Humaid

Central bank governor

Mohammed al-Jasser

© 2011 The Economist lntelligence Unit Ltd. All rights reserved
Whilst every effort has been taken to verify the accuracy of this information, The Economist lntelligence Unit Ltd. cannot accept any responsibility or liability for reliance by any person on this information