Country Report Uganda March 2010

Political structure

Official name

Republic of Uganda

Form of state

Unitary republic

Legal system

Based on English common law and the 1995 constitution

National legislature

Parliament of Uganda; 319 members: 215 are elected by universal suffrage; the remainder represent special interest groups, including the army, women, workers, youth and the disabled; all serve five years

National elections

February 2006 (presidential and legislative); next elections expected in 2011

Head of state

President, elected by universal suffrage for a five-year term

National government

The president and his appointed cabinet; a new government was announced in May 2006, following the February elections; last reshuffle February 2009

Main political parties

The National Resistance Movement (NRM) dominates the political scene and has a large parliamentary majority; the Forum for Democratic Change (FDC) emerged from within the NRM and is now the largest opposition party; the main traditional political parties, the Democratic Party (DP) and the Uganda People's Congress (UPC), have declined into near-obscurity

President & commander-in-chief: Yoweri Museveni

Vice-president: Gilbert Bukenya

Prime minister: Apollo Nsibambi

First deputy prime minister & minister for East African affairs: Eriya Kategaya

Second deputy prime minister & minister of public service: Henry Kajura

Third deputy prime minister & minister of internal affairs: Kirunda Kivejinja

Key ministers

Agriculture, animal industries & fisheries: Hope Mwesigye

Defence: Crispus Kiyonga

Education & sports: Geraldine Bitamazire

Energy & minerals development: Hillary Onek

Finance, planning & economic development: Syda Bbumba

Foreign affairs: Sam Kutesa

Gender, labour & social development: Gabriel Opio

Health: Stephen Mallinga

Information & national guidance: Matsiko Kabakumba

Justice & attorney-general: Khiddu Makubya

Local government: Adolf Mwesigye

Security: Amama Mbabazi

Trade, tourism & industry: Kahinda Otafiire

Water & environment: Maria Mutagamba

Without portfolio: Dorothy Hyuha

Works & transport: John Nasasira

Central bank governor

Emmanuel Tumusiime-Mutebile

© 2010 The Economist lntelligence Unit Ltd. All rights reserved
Whilst every effort has been taken to verify the accuracy of this information, The Economist lntelligence Unit Ltd. cannot accept any responsibility or liability for reliance by any person on this information