Country Report Central African Republic August 1997 Main report

Political structure.

Official name: Republique centrafricaine

Form of state: Unitary republic

Legal system: Based on 1986 constitution

National legislature: National Assembly, 85 members elected by universal suffrage serve a five-year term

National elections: August-September 1993 (presidential and legislative); next elections due by August-September 1998 (legislative) and 1999 (presidential)

Head of state: President, elected by universal suffrage to serve a six- year term

National government: The prime minister (nominated by the president) and his nominated Council of Ministers; the government is dominated by the MLPC. Last cabinet reshuffle: February 1, 1997

Main political parties: The presidential majority includes: Mouvement pour la liberation du peuple centrafricain (MLPC); Parti liberal democrate (PLD); Convention nationale (CN); Mouvement d'evolution sociale de l'Afrique noire (MESAN) and the Rassemblement democratique centrafricain (RDC). The seven member parties of the opposition alliance Conseil democratique de l'opposition centrafricaine (Codepo) include: Alliance pour la democratie et le progres (ADP); Front patriotique pour le progres (FPP); Mouvement pour la democratie et le developpement (MDD, formerly Mouvance David Dacko)

President Ange-Felix Patasse (MLPC) Prime minister Michel Gbezera-Bria Minister of state for foreign affairs Jean Mette Yapende (MLPC) Key ministers Defence, army reform & veterans Pascal Kado (MLPC) Economic reform, planning & cooperation Christophe M'Breemaidou (CN) Education Albert Mberio (MLPC) Environment, water, forestry, fisheries & hunting Joseph Gnomba (MDREC) Family & social affairs Eliane Mokodopo (MESAN) Finance & budget Anicet Georges Dologuele (MLPC) Health & population Fernand Djengbot (ind centrist) Human rights & democratic culture Laurent Gomina Pampali (RDC) Justice Marcel Metefara (MLPC) Mining & energy Joseph Agbo (MLPC) Post & telecommunications Michel Bindo (RDC) Public works & infrastructure Jacquesson Mazette (MLPC) Security & regional administration General Francois N'Djadder Bedaya (MLPC) BEAC governor Jean-Felix Mamalepot

© 1997 The Economist lntelligence Unit Ltd. All rights reserved
Whilst every effort has been taken to verify the accuracy of this information, The Economist lntelligence Unit Ltd. cannot accept any responsibility or liability for reliance by any person on this information