Country Report Central African Republic October 1998 Main report

Political structure.

Official name: Republique centrafricaine

Form of state: Unitary republic

Legal system: Based on the 1995 constitution

National legislature: Assemblee nationale, 85 members elected by universal suffrage serve a five-year term

National elections: August-September 1993 (presidential and legislative); the next legislative election, originally due by August-September 1998, has been postponed until November-December. The next presidential election is due in 1999

Head of state: President, elected by universal suffrage to serve a six- year term

National government: The prime minister (nominated by the president) and his nominated Council of Ministers; the coalition government is dominated by the MLPC. Last cabinet reshuffle February 18th 1997

Main political parties: The Mouvement pour la liberation du peuple centrafricain (MLPC) is usually supported by the two small liberal parties, the Parti liberal democrate (PLD) and the Convention nationale (CN), and has recently been supported by the Mouvement d'evolution sociale de l'Afrique noire (MESAN), the Mouvement democratique pour la renaissance et l'evolution de la republique centrafricaine (MDRERC) and the Rassemblement democratique centrafricain (RDC). Members of the coalition government include constituents of the grouping of 11 opposition parties, known as G11, principally: the Alliance pour la democratie et le progres (ADP); the Front patriotique pour le progres (FPP); and the Mouvement pour la democratie et le developpement (MDD, formerly Mouvance David Dacko)

President Ange-Felix Patasse (MLPC) Prime minister Michel Gbezera-Bria Minister of state for foreign affairs Jean Mette Yapende (MLPC) Key ministers Agriculture Timothe Augene (MLPC) Defence, army reform & veterans Pascal Kado (MLPC) Environment, water, forestry, fisheries & hunting Joseph Gnomba (MDRERC) Family & social affairs Eliane Mokodopo (MESAN) Finance & budget Anicet Georges Dologuele (MLPC) Human rights & democratic culture Laurent Gomina Pampali Justice Marcel Metefara (MLPC) Mining & energy Desire Pendemou (MLPC) Post & telecommunications Michel Bindo (RDP) Public works & infrastructure Jackson Mazette (MLPC) Territorial administration & General Francois N'Djadder public security Bedaya (MLPC) BEAC governor Jean-Felix Mamalepot

© 1998 The Economist lntelligence Unit Ltd. All rights reserved
Whilst every effort has been taken to verify the accuracy of this information, The Economist lntelligence Unit Ltd. cannot accept any responsibility or liability for reliance by any person on this information