Country Report Zimbabwe September 2010

Political structure

Official name

Republic of Zimbabwe

Form of state

Unitary republic

Legal system

Based on Roman-Dutch law and the 1979 constitution

National legislature

House of Assembly with 210 members, all of whom are directly elected; a Senate of 66 members (50 of whom are directly elected, six appointed by the president and ten seats held by traditional chiefs) was established in November 2005

National elections

March 2008 (presidential, legislative and Senate); next elections due in 2011

Head of state

President, elected by universal suffrage for a six-year term

National government

The president and his appointed cabinet; a power-sharing government was formed in February 2009 in accordance with an agreement signed after the disputed 2008 elections

Main political parties

Zimbabwe African National Union-Patriotic Front (ZANU-PF), the ruling party since 1980; the Movement for Democratic Change (MDC), formed by the trade union movement in September 1999; a number of smaller parties and independent candidates also contest elections

President: Robert Mugabe

Prime minister: Morgan Tsvangirai

Key ZANU-PF ministers

Agriculture, mechanisation & irrigation: Joseph Made

Defence: Emmerson Mnangagwa

Energy & water development: Kenneth Konga

Environment & natural resources management: Francis Nhema

Foreign affairs: Simbarashe Mumbengegwi

Justice & legal affairs: Patrick Chinamasa

Lands & rural resettlement: Herbert Murerwa

Media, information & publicity: Webster Shamu

Mines & minerals development: Obert Mpofu

Transport & infrastructural development: Nicholas Goche

Key MDC ministers

Economic planning & investment promotion: Tapiwa Mashakada

Education, sport, art & culture: David Coltart

Energy & power development: Elton Mangoma

Key MDC ministers

Health & child welfare: Henry Madzorera

Home affairs: Theresa Makone

Housing & social amenities: Giles Mutsekwa

Industry & commerce: Welshman Ncube

Labour & social security: Paurina Gwanyanya

Public works: Joel Gabuza

Reserve Bank governor

Gideon Gono

© 2010 The Economist lntelligence Unit Ltd. All rights reserved
Whilst every effort has been taken to verify the accuracy of this information, The Economist lntelligence Unit Ltd. cannot accept any responsibility or liability for reliance by any person on this information